The 6th Rajib Sarma Memorial Cricket Tournament 2017

In memory of their colleague Late Rajib Sarma, NECTA (North East Computer Traders Association) organizes a cricket match every year amongst its members and the IT fraternity of the Northeast. This year, the event was held from the 15th – 17th December 2017 at Judges Field playgrounds, Guwahati.   This event titled “Unity Cup” was a three day event, with seven teams playing against each other for the coveted title. The title sponsor of the event was Epson and was sponsored by Acer,  HP, Canon, Lenovo, Circle and Rashi Peripherals. The 7 teams were each owned by one of the sponsor. The event was co sponsored by cooler Master, CyberPower, TAG, PC Doctor, Eset, AVO and Redhat. The security partner of the event was Gobbler and the Nutrition partner was Mission HealthCare. IT Northeast CompuVar were the Print & Media partners for the event. The seven teams were christened as – Epson Riders, HP Warriors, Acer Aspirers, Circle Challengers,  Canon Spartans, Rashi Rangers and Lenovo Legions.

The Teams were captioned by Rajesh Agarwala, Pranjal Barua, Jabbar Bucha, Deepak Bajaj, Mukesh Bajaj, Anil Harlalka and Aditya Jalan. This time the teams had individual mentors to guide & motivate them. The mentors were Mr. Ajit Jain (HP),  Mr, Vikas Bucha (Epson),  Mr. Bhaskar Kalita (Acer), Mr. Pawan Agarwal (Canon), Mr. Vikash Agarwal (Lenovo) and Mr. Kishore Agarwal (Circle) and Kamlesh Goel ( Rashi ). The teams were almost equally balanced with mix members from the Channel Community, Vendor companies, Distribution Houses and IT press.  Mr. B.L Navalakha and Mr. Amit Agarwal were the match referees of the event. Their precise decisions were very much valued on third umpire calls and other important facets of the game.  The opening ceremony was attended by Shri Badal Thakur, veteran cricketer, Shri K. K Baruah, President, Save Guwahati Build Guwahati, Shri Hemchandra Pathak Information & Public Relation Officer, Kamrup Guwahati. The Inaugural lamp was lighted by the invited guests, Mr Tridip Talukdar, President, NECTA, Mr. Vikash Agarwal, General Secretary, NECTA and other executive members of NECTA which was followed by the National Anthem and the Oath taking ceremony by all the players. It’s worth mentioning that Shri Anna Hazare, India's well-acclaimed social activist also graced the 2nd day of the event by being present at the grounds and appreciating the efforts of NECTA in bringing the youths together, through games and sports. A total of 10 league matches were played amongst the seven teams with each team playing three games. Team Canon which comprised of mostly members from upcountry and Guwahati were the clear finalists winning all leagues matches at a trot. It was a race of run rates and wins amongst the other six teams to decide the second finalists. After a close match between Epson and Rashi, Acer jumped onto become the second finalists on the basis of higher run rate. The final was to be played between the unbeatable Canon Spartans and Acer Aspirers. The Man of the Match of the 10 league matches were : S.Vijay Kumar (Acer), Chirag Jain (Canon), Hulash Nahata ( Lenovo), Ankit Agarwal (Rashi), Chirag Jain ( Canon), Rishab Jain (Rashi), Abhishek Sharma (Epson), Vinod Sethia (Acer), Akshay Jain ( Epson) and Prasoon Trivedi (HP). The high voltage finals started with Canon winning the toss and electing to field first. Acer put to bat managed to score only 136 runs in the stipulated 20 overs. Aashis Jain was the highest scorer with 36 runs and Vinod Sethia with 25 runs. The low score was easily managed by the formidable batting lineup of Canon with 5 balls to spare and 4 wickets in hand, with Brajen Gogoi remaining not out with 45 runs. Vikash Jain of Canon was declared the Man of the Match. The chief guest for the closing ceremony, Mr. Siddhartha Bhattacharya, MLA, while appreciating the cricketing event gave away the winning trophy to the Canon Spartans, the 1st Runners up to the Acer Aspirers and the second runner up to Epson Riders. The Best batsman of the tournament was Avinash Jalan (Acer), Best Bowler was Vikash Jain ( Canon) and the Best Fielder was Bijay Chourasia ( Epson). Vinod Sethia of Acer Aspirer with the only century of the tournament was adjudged the Man of the Series.